Truthout Stories http://truth-out.org Mon, 28 Jul 2014 11:12:28 -0400 en-gb Seven Parenting Tips for a World That Harms Women http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/25210-seven-parenting-tips-for-a-world-that-harms-women http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/25210-seven-parenting-tips-for-a-world-that-harms-women ]]> Opinion Mon, 28 Jul 2014 10:32:32 -0400 One-State Solution http://truth-out.org/art/item/25208-one-state-solution http://truth-out.org/art/item/25208-one-state-solution ]]> Art Mon, 28 Jul 2014 10:15:19 -0400 Peace Agreement http://truth-out.org/art/item/25207-peace-agreement http://truth-out.org/art/item/25207-peace-agreement ]]> Art Mon, 28 Jul 2014 10:11:03 -0400 Afghans Don't Like Soybeans, Despite a Big US Push http://truth-out.org/news/item/25206-afghans-dont-like-soybeans-despite-a-big-us-push http://truth-out.org/news/item/25206-afghans-dont-like-soybeans-despite-a-big-us-push ]]> News Mon, 28 Jul 2014 10:10:16 -0400 The Silent Anguish of Pregnant Women Who Struggle With Addiction http://truth-out.org/news/item/25205-the-silent-anguish-of-pregnant-women-who-struggle-with-addiction http://truth-out.org/news/item/25205-the-silent-anguish-of-pregnant-women-who-struggle-with-addiction

In early July, Mallory Loyola, 26, was charged with assault after her newborn girl tested positive for meth. Loyola is the first woman in the state to be arrested under a new Tennessee law that allows the state to criminally charge mothers for the illegal use of a narcotic drug while pregnant, if their children are harmed or addicted to the drug. Many medical experts and reproductive rights advocates warn that this kind of legislation is detrimental to women and worry that similar legislation will be passed in other states.

]]>
News Mon, 28 Jul 2014 10:56:10 -0400
The Mystery of a Ukrainian Army "Defector" http://truth-out.org/news/item/25204-the-mystery-of-a-ukrainian-army-defector http://truth-out.org/news/item/25204-the-mystery-of-a-ukrainian-army-defector ]]> News Mon, 28 Jul 2014 09:58:36 -0400 Narcissists Gone Wild! http://truth-out.org/news/item/25203-narcissists-gone-wild http://truth-out.org/news/item/25203-narcissists-gone-wild ]]> News Mon, 28 Jul 2014 08:59:33 -0400 Wishful Thinking About Natural Gas: Why Fossil Fuels Can't Solve the Problems Created by Fossil Fuels http://truth-out.org/news/item/25202-wishful-thinking-about-natural-gas-why-fossil-fuels-cant-solve-the-problems-created-by-fossil-fuels http://truth-out.org/news/item/25202-wishful-thinking-about-natural-gas-why-fossil-fuels-cant-solve-the-problems-created-by-fossil-fuels ]]> News Mon, 28 Jul 2014 10:01:38 -0400 You Can't Taper a Ponzi Scheme: Time to Reboot http://truth-out.org/news/item/25201-you-cant-taper-a-ponzi-scheme-time-to-reboot http://truth-out.org/news/item/25201-you-cant-taper-a-ponzi-scheme-time-to-reboot ]]> News Mon, 28 Jul 2014 09:53:19 -0400 Finance in America: Promoting Inequality and Waste http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/25200-finance-in-america-promoting-inequality-and-waste http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/25200-finance-in-america-promoting-inequality-and-waste

The bloated financial sector in the United States is a major engine of inequality sucking money away from poor and middle income households and making folks like Lloyd Blankfein, Jamie Dimon, and Robert Rubin incredibly rich. There are many who want the government to play a role in reducing inequality. That might be a desirable goal. However a higher priority would be to have the government stop playing a role in increasing inequality as it does with its support for the financial industry.

]]>
Opinion Mon, 28 Jul 2014 09:41:21 -0400