Truthout Stories http://truth-out.org Mon, 15 Sep 2014 00:47:51 -0400 en-gb On Patriotism and Constitutional Amendment: An Interview With Film Director Miyazaki Hayao http://truth-out.org/news/item/26183-on-patriotism-and-constitutional-amendment-an-interview-with-film-director-miyazaki-hayao http://truth-out.org/news/item/26183-on-patriotism-and-constitutional-amendment-an-interview-with-film-director-miyazaki-hayao

This interview with famed animated film director Miyazaki Hayao covers a wide range of topics. Throughout, Hayao presents a strong criticism of Japan's current Abe government, especially its proposal of a constitutional amendment.

]]>
News Sun, 14 Sep 2014 12:42:12 -0400
A Wild That Leaves Us Speechless http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26182-a-wild-that-leaves-us-speechless http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26182-a-wild-that-leaves-us-speechless ]]> Opinion Sun, 14 Sep 2014 12:07:09 -0400 Scott Walker's Snow Job http://truth-out.org/news/item/26180-scott-walkers-snow-job http://truth-out.org/news/item/26180-scott-walkers-snow-job ]]> News Sun, 14 Sep 2014 11:39:48 -0400 Why I'm Marching for Climate Action http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26179-why-im-marching-for-climate-action http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26179-why-im-marching-for-climate-action ]]> Opinion Sun, 14 Sep 2014 11:18:28 -0400 World's Last Remaining Forest Wilderness at Risk http://truth-out.org/news/item/26178-worlds-last-remaining-forest-wilderness-at-risk http://truth-out.org/news/item/26178-worlds-last-remaining-forest-wilderness-at-risk ]]> News Sun, 14 Sep 2014 10:50:16 -0400 How the West Created the Islamic State http://truth-out.org/news/item/26177-how-the-west-created-the-islamic-state http://truth-out.org/news/item/26177-how-the-west-created-the-islamic-state ]]> News Sun, 14 Sep 2014 00:00:00 -0400 Shh! Life in a State of Surveillance http://truth-out.org/news/item/26170-shh-life-in-a-state-of-surveillance http://truth-out.org/news/item/26170-shh-life-in-a-state-of-surveillance ]]> News Sat, 13 Sep 2014 13:08:26 -0400 The Senate Just Voted to Keep Big Money in Politics; Three Reasons to Celebrate Anyway http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26168-the-senate-just-voted-to-keep-big-money-in-politics-three-reasons-to-celebrate-anyway http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26168-the-senate-just-voted-to-keep-big-money-in-politics-three-reasons-to-celebrate-anyway ]]> Opinion Sat, 13 Sep 2014 12:00:28 -0400 The Independence Referendum in Scotland: A Beginner's Guide http://truth-out.org/news/item/26167-the-independence-referendum-in-scotland-a-beginners-guide http://truth-out.org/news/item/26167-the-independence-referendum-in-scotland-a-beginners-guide ]]> News Sat, 13 Sep 2014 09:23:39 -0400 A Campaign Primer: Native American Voters Count http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26166-a-campaign-primer-native-american-voters-count http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26166-a-campaign-primer-native-american-voters-count

Back in session and gearing up for campaigns before the November midterm elections, the political coverage will likely focus on two aspects of a Congressional race: who will win and who will vote. Political influence for Native Americans and Indian tribes has grown in federal elections in recent years with Native voters often making the difference in certain races.

]]>
Opinion Sat, 13 Sep 2014 10:52:55 -0400