Truthout Stories http://truth-out.org Wed, 20 Aug 2014 10:55:55 -0400 en-gb Trauma Kits and Body Bags Now Fill Aleppo School http://truth-out.org/news/item/25696-trauma-kits-and-body-bags-now-fill-aleppo-school http://truth-out.org/news/item/25696-trauma-kits-and-body-bags-now-fill-aleppo-school ]]> News Wed, 20 Aug 2014 10:33:28 -0400 A Tale of Two Alleged Iran Nuke Leakers http://truth-out.org/news/item/25693-a-tale-of-two-alleged-iran-nuke-leakers http://truth-out.org/news/item/25693-a-tale-of-two-alleged-iran-nuke-leakers ]]> News Wed, 20 Aug 2014 10:00:34 -0400 Race Card http://truth-out.org/art/item/25691-race-card http://truth-out.org/art/item/25691-race-card ]]> Art Wed, 20 Aug 2014 09:02:40 -0400 Officer Friendly http://truth-out.org/art/item/25689-officer-friendly http://truth-out.org/art/item/25689-officer-friendly ]]> Art Wed, 20 Aug 2014 08:57:54 -0400 New Police Hacking Technologies Raise Familiar Questions About Civil Liberties http://truth-out.org/news/item/25687-new-police-hacking-technologies-raise-familiar-questions-about-civil-liberties http://truth-out.org/news/item/25687-new-police-hacking-technologies-raise-familiar-questions-about-civil-liberties

In the last decade, US police have used every available tool to conduct surveillance. Now, with the FBI taking that fight to the internet, we must learn from our mistakes and make sure policing-by-malware doesn't become the norm. Are we, as a society, comfortable with a world where the government lurks behind every webcam?

]]>
News Wed, 20 Aug 2014 10:33:31 -0400
The Ferguson Effect on Our Great-Grandchildren http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/25686-the-ferguson-effect-on-our-great-grandchildren http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/25686-the-ferguson-effect-on-our-great-grandchildren ]]> Opinion Tue, 19 Aug 2014 16:13:02 -0400 As Police Continue Ferguson Crackdown, Protesters Vow to Keep Taking the Streets http://truth-out.org/news/item/25685-as-clashes-erupt-in-ferguson-protesters-vow-to-keep-taking-the-streets http://truth-out.org/news/item/25685-as-clashes-erupt-in-ferguson-protesters-vow-to-keep-taking-the-streets ]]> News Tue, 19 Aug 2014 14:38:35 -0400 On the News With Thom Hartmann: Wind Power Is One Step Closer to Coal Country, and More http://truth-out.org/news/item/25679-on-the-news-with-thom-hartmann-wind-power-is-one-step-closer-to-coal-country-and-more http://truth-out.org/news/item/25679-on-the-news-with-thom-hartmann-wind-power-is-one-step-closer-to-coal-country-and-more ]]> News Tue, 19 Aug 2014 12:25:42 -0400 "Overpoliced and Underprotected": In Michael Brown Killing, Neglect of Black Communities Laid Bare http://truth-out.org/news/item/25677-overpoliced-and-underprotected-in-michael-brown-killing-neglect-of-black-communities-laid-bare http://truth-out.org/news/item/25677-overpoliced-and-underprotected-in-michael-brown-killing-neglect-of-black-communities-laid-bare ]]> News Tue, 19 Aug 2014 11:38:31 -0400 Putin and Russian Nationalism on the Rise http://truth-out.org/news/item/25676-putin-and-russian-nationalism-on-the-rise http://truth-out.org/news/item/25676-putin-and-russian-nationalism-on-the-rise ]]> News Tue, 19 Aug 2014 11:33:31 -0400