Truthout Stories http://truth-out.org Wed, 27 Aug 2014 13:04:05 -0400 en-gb Michael Brown's Funeral Buried in Media Circus http://truth-out.org/news/item/25846-michael-browns-funeral-buried-in-media-circus http://truth-out.org/news/item/25846-michael-browns-funeral-buried-in-media-circus ]]> News Wed, 27 Aug 2014 12:43:53 -0400 There's Something Wrong in America: Michael Brown's Funeral Sparks Calls for an Enduring Movement http://truth-out.org/news/item/25843-theres-something-wrong-in-america-michael-browns-funeral-sparks-calls-for-an-enduring-movement http://truth-out.org/news/item/25843-theres-something-wrong-in-america-michael-browns-funeral-sparks-calls-for-an-enduring-movement ]]> News Wed, 27 Aug 2014 12:01:35 -0400 The Islamic State, Assad, and the Contradictions Faced by the US in Syria http://truth-out.org/news/item/25842-the-islamic-state-assad-and-the-contradictions-faced-by-the-us-in-syria http://truth-out.org/news/item/25842-the-islamic-state-assad-and-the-contradictions-faced-by-the-us-in-syria ]]> News Wed, 27 Aug 2014 11:50:51 -0400 With This Decade's Climate Policy, Expect More Warming Than if Nothing Was Done at All http://truth-out.org/news/item/25838-with-this-decades-climate-policy-expect-more-warming-than-if-nothing-was-done-at-all http://truth-out.org/news/item/25838-with-this-decades-climate-policy-expect-more-warming-than-if-nothing-was-done-at-all

2014 827 clim fwThe Navajo Generating Station in Arizona. It removes up to 90 percent of global cooling sulfate emissions, but the majority of coal fired generation in the U.S. does not. (Photo: Bruce Melton)

Since 1986, we have emitted as much carbon dioxide as we emitted in the prior 236 years, yet climate policy has only become approximately 13 percent more stringent. New knowledge suggests currently proposed policy will likely cause more warming in critical short-term time frames than if nothing was done at all. 

]]>
News Wed, 27 Aug 2014 12:13:07 -0400
The False Narrative of Calm in Ferguson http://truth-out.org/news/item/25836-the-false-narrative-of-calm-in-ferguson http://truth-out.org/news/item/25836-the-false-narrative-of-calm-in-ferguson ]]> News Wed, 27 Aug 2014 09:58:56 -0400 Auto Mileage Reports Should Reflect Reality http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/25835-auto-mileage-reports-should-reflect-reality http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/25835-auto-mileage-reports-should-reflect-reality ]]> Opinion Wed, 27 Aug 2014 09:31:46 -0400 The Time for Burning Coal Has Passed http://truth-out.org/news/item/25834-the-time-for-burning-coal-has-passed http://truth-out.org/news/item/25834-the-time-for-burning-coal-has-passed ]]> News Wed, 27 Aug 2014 09:06:59 -0400 Just Weeks Ago http://truth-out.org/art/item/25833-just-weeks-ago http://truth-out.org/art/item/25833-just-weeks-ago ]]> Art Wed, 27 Aug 2014 09:00:26 -0400 Approved Responses to Ferguson http://truth-out.org/art/item/25832-approved-responses-to-ferguson http://truth-out.org/art/item/25832-approved-responses-to-ferguson ]]> Art Wed, 27 Aug 2014 08:40:27 -0400 Employers' Opposition to Birth Control Is Just the Tip of the Iceberg http://truth-out.org/news/item/25829-employers-opposition-to-birth-control-is-just-the-tip-of-the-iceberg http://truth-out.org/news/item/25829-employers-opposition-to-birth-control-is-just-the-tip-of-the-iceberg ]]> News Wed, 27 Aug 2014 10:14:02 -0400