Truthout Stories http://truth-out.org Sun, 21 Sep 2014 00:25:36 -0400 en-gb "Don't Warehouse Me in a Nursing Home" http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26329-dont-warehouse-me-in-a-nursing-home http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26329-dont-warehouse-me-in-a-nursing-home ]]> Opinion Sat, 20 Sep 2014 14:00:48 -0400 First Fall Semester Debtors’ Assembly at SIUC: A Critique of the Student Debt Regime http://truth-out.org/news/item/26328-first-fall-semester-debtors’-assembly-at-siuc-a-critique-of-the-student-debt-regime http://truth-out.org/news/item/26328-first-fall-semester-debtors’-assembly-at-siuc-a-critique-of-the-student-debt-regime ]]> News Sat, 20 Sep 2014 13:33:07 -0400 Latin America at a Climate Crossroads http://truth-out.org/news/item/26327-latin-america-at-a-climate-crossroads http://truth-out.org/news/item/26327-latin-america-at-a-climate-crossroads ]]> News Sat, 20 Sep 2014 12:56:10 -0400 Existential Zombie http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26326-existential-zombie http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26326-existential-zombie ]]> Opinion Sat, 20 Sep 2014 11:45:28 -0400 The Multiple Benefits of Economic Localization http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26325-the-multiple-benefits-of-economic-localization http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26325-the-multiple-benefits-of-economic-localization ]]> Opinion Sat, 20 Sep 2014 10:33:13 -0400 Restoring Government by the People, for the People http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26324-restoring-government-by-the-people-for-the-people http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26324-restoring-government-by-the-people-for-the-people ]]> Opinion Sat, 20 Sep 2014 11:09:07 -0400 Socialism and Workers' Self-Directed Enterprises http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26323-socialism-and-workers-self-directed-enterprises http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26323-socialism-and-workers-self-directed-enterprises ]]> Opinion Sat, 20 Sep 2014 09:26:21 -0400 Machiavelli and Oligarchic Democracy http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26313-machiavelli-and-oligarchic-democracy http://truth-out.org/opinion/item/26313-machiavelli-and-oligarchic-democracy

Machiavelli wrote that when we are trying to understand politics and the history of human societies, much can be explained in terms of the eternal conflict between two fundamental desires. One is the desire of the grandi - that is, the super-rich and the super-powerful - to protect their wealth and power, and to accumulate more wealth and power. The other is the desire of ordinary citizens.

]]>
Opinion Sat, 20 Sep 2014 11:35:03 -0400
Abortion Opponents Take Fight With Planned Parenthood to Ridiculous Extreme in Miss America Battle http://truth-out.org/news/item/26312-abortion-opponents-take-fight-with-planned-parenthood-to-ridiculous-extreme-in-miss-america-battle http://truth-out.org/news/item/26312-abortion-opponents-take-fight-with-planned-parenthood-to-ridiculous-extreme-in-miss-america-battle ]]> News Fri, 19 Sep 2014 11:28:54 -0400 Nobel http://truth-out.org/art/item/26311-nobel http://truth-out.org/art/item/26311-nobel ]]> Art Fri, 19 Sep 2014 11:39:14 -0400